top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureby Marlen Powery

Escape From the City/Miami


You know, I’ve always said I’m a country girl living in Miami lol. City living means always running, always rushing, always going 100 miles per hour. Not to mention the lovely traffic Miami has to offer and it’s even lovelier drivers…so, living in a big city like Miami, I love when I can actually find some peace and tranquility in the hustle and bustle of every day city life. This past Monday, we did just that and went horseback riding!! If you don’t mind a drive, head up to Southwest Ranches in Broward and you’ll find that escaping city life is more accessible than you thought. Tucked away from the main streets and highways of the city, is a place called Bar-B-Ranch. Once you turn onto that one lane road you know you’re leaving the city lights behind and you instantly feel at ease. You can roll down your windows and breathe in the fresh air as you drive all the way down to the ranch. You do have to call ahead to reserve your spot, so if you want to plan it for a special occasion I suggest calling at least a week in advance. I first spoke to Stephanie over the phone when I made my reservation and she was very sweet answering all of my questions. When we arrived we were greeted by Stephanie and Megan. Before being paired with our horses, Megan gave us a quick info session on the basics, and after asking if anyone had any questions we were ready to ride. We headed off towards the trail along with another couple and three handlers. So, if you’re someone who is hesitant or anxious about going horseback riding, you have no need to worry(the handlers spread themselves with one in front leading the trail, one in the middle going along your side, and one at the back). I can’t say enough how nice the staff was, they chat with you along the way and just make sure you have an enjoyable time. The ride was 90 minutes long, which to be honest at first concerned me a bit. Not because of me personally, but because I didn’t want the horses to get worn out especially in the South Florida heat. Yes, I care more about the animals than people(sorry, not sorry)! Well, I was very pleased to see that along the way we stopped so the horses could drink water and they even hosed them down. Then I smiled when I asked Megan if they bred their own horses or if they rescued and she answered saying that about 60% of their horses have been rescues. [Fun Fact: apparently not all horses sweat so hosing them down helps keep them cool.] Thankfully it wasn’t as hot as it could have been though. Plus, the fact that we were riding through trees provided us with shade and a great breeze!! We rode in between all the trees and bushes down a trail that the ranch owners paved themselves along the outskirts of a beautiful park. All the greenery of the trail was amazing! We even saw turtles, iguanas, cows, and more horses along our trail ride. There is also a beautiful open field along the way that’s perfect for pictures! If you’re a little more adventurous like us, you can even trot a little! Now, I’m not gonna lie, my ass still hurts from the up and down motion on the saddle but I would do it again lol! So fun!! I can’t tell you how relaxed we felt when we got back to the ranch.  Honestly, I didn’t want to leave but It was so nice to get away from it all even for just a few hours. Away from the traffic jams, from the constant honking, and really notice the beauty around us. There was something so peaceful about hearing nothing but the horses’ hooves clicking and clacking as you take in all of nature’s beauty. I literally felt like I was anywhere else but in Florida. If you love nature and you’re an animal lover, I do hope you check out Bar-B-Ranch. It’s also kid friendly which is great because I know sometimes it’s hard for us parents to get a baby sitter! Kids can also ride, which, if you ask me, is a great alternative to watching TV all day long!! We’ll definitely be going back! 

Alright, guys thanks for reading and I hope you find your own little escape from the city!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page