top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureby Marlen Powery

Distance Learning: Thoughts From A 12 Year Old



I'm sure you've all heard or read the news by now...Miami-Dade County Schools will remain closed for the remainder of the school year. I can already hear the parents in the back sighing and pulling out their hair, but have any of you parents out there actually stopped to think about how your children feel? I mean, this is their life that has also been totally flipped. They're kids, school is their entire life!



Well, last night after watching the new episode of Raven's Home, I decided to interview Angie. As we snuggled up under her sparkly purple comforter I asked her if I could interview her for my blog and to say she was excited is an understatement. She said and I quote, "Oh my goodness, am I going to be famous!?" So, scroll on down to hear just what this spunky twelve year old has to say about quarantine, the corona virus, and distance learning.



1. Hi Angie, how are you?

Hi mami, I'm good, thanks for asking. How are you?


2. I'm good sweet pea...how do you feel about the corona virus and being in quarantine?

I say that it sucks! Because of that I can't go outdoors and have fun.


3. Did you hear that schools will remain closed for the rest of the

school year because of the corona virus?

Yes mami, you told me.


4. How do you feel about that?

Well mami, I feel very confused about what is happening in our world. I do like virtual

school though because it gives me a better understanding. I have almost straight A's

now, when before I would have both A's and B's. I feel that I have better resources to

help me learn, and I feel that if I ask my teachers a question they answer me.

Sometimes in school, some teachers will say "Put your hand down, I'm in the middle of

something now".


5. Is there anything that frightens you or scares you about what's going on in the world right now?

Yes. I'm scared that I could get the virus and I have a feeling that it's not going to be over soon.


6. Do you find virtual school easier than actually going to the school physically?

Yes.


7. How do your friends like virtual school?

For some of them, it's kinda hard because they don't know how to access their assignments and they might not have enough help at home, their parents may not be able to help them because of their language. It is very hard for some of them because they are getting overwhelmed with a lot of assignments and don't know how to deal with it.


8. What do you say to other students who might find virtual school harder and are having a

difficult time?

Too bad...no I'm kidding, I'm kidding!! I would say to use online resources such as

Edmodo and talk to your teachers if you're having trouble. I suggest making a weekly

organizer of the assignments you have to do. If you're still having trouble, you should

talk to your teachers or your mom/dad to see if they can help you with what you need

help with. Glad, I could be of help!




9. Do you want virtual school to stay in place forever or do you eventually want to go back

to school?

Ugh, that's a toughie lol


10. What about parents who are complaining about virtual school and having their kids

home for so long, what do you say to them?

Hmm, they should, like, talk to their kids' teachers and they could also talk to other

parents for advice. Communication...I think if we all communicate we can do this

together. We just have to stay positive! Plus, we're going to grow up one day and not be in the house all the time anymore.


(Ugh, she killed me here!!!)


11. What would you like your teachers to know during this time?

Well, I think that they should not be afraid to talk to us students just like they tell us that

we can always talk to them. If any teacher is struggling, they should know that it's ok

and they should also ask for help. Teachers can rely on us students as well. Don't be

afraid to ask for help! Also, thank you to all of my teachers for helping me get through

this virtual school.


12. What has been your favorite thing and least favorite thing so far about virtual school?

Ok, let's start off with my favorite thing, I like the fact that we can do our schoolwork

whenever and wherever we want. I can be in my pajamas and not wear those ugly

uniforms! I can even eat a snack while I'm doing virtual school. My least favorite thing is

that I don't get to be social and see my friends.


13. What do you miss about going to school physically?

I miss seeing my peoples...lol and I miss doing P.E. because I like the outdoors and nature.




14. How do you think parents and teachers can make virtual school more fun for you guys?

They can use games! For math, there's something called Cool Math Games that actually tricks you into doing math while you're having fun. Oh and also, giving us snack breaks!


15. How can parents help their kids do better with virtual school?

I think they should be more patient because this is very new and confusing to all kids.





16. Is there anything else you'd like to add?

Well, I think that we just need to stay home and stay positive. We're in this together! :-)




41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page