top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureby Marlen Powery

Baby talk? Thank you, next!


We’ve all been asked the ever so popular, ever so annoying question “When are you having a baby?” There’s always someone that feels entitled to tell you that you “need” to have a baby already and if you say no they look at you like you’re the worst human being on the face of the planet. Or if you already have a child it’s the “When are you having another one?” and then they start explaining and telling you why you’re wrong for saying that you don’t want kids or that you don’t want another one…because you know, they clearly know your life so much better than you and they clearly know what you should be doing in Your life, right!? If they love babies so much, why don’t they start popping babies left and right! 

I have had everyone from friends to family and even colleagues, ask me or rather tell me, that I need to have another baby. I’ve been called selfish. I’ve been called mean. I’ve been called heartless. I’ve been told that I’m wrong. I can’t tell you how badly I want to just throw my shoe at someone’s head when they bring up baby talk. I’m sorry but I will not apologize for not meeting society’s expectations of what women should or shouldn’t feel when it comes to motherhood. If a woman chooses her career over having children, she’s a bitch. If a woman simply doesn’t want to have children, she’s heartless. Why? It’s her life, her body, and she can damn well do what she pleases! There are women who choose to not ever have children and that is ok. It doesn’t make them any less of a woman. There are women who only have one child and that is ok. There are women who choose to have two, four, even six children and that is ok. There are women who have children when they’re forty and that is ok! It’s all ok! Quit getting your panties in a bunch! My absolute favorite is when they go and talk to your partner and start bombarding them with the baby talk, as if talking to them instead of you is going to somehow make you change your mind. Let me just say this, the decision to have a baby is strictly a woman’s choice and her partner’s. That’s it. No one else. So mind ya business!! I have a beautiful eleven year old daughter that I love and adore beyond words. She is my biggest headache in life, literally, but I would take a bullet for her without thinking twice. Now, just because I’m already a mom doesn’t mean that I have to hurry up and have another baby. It doesn’t mean that I have to adhere by some timeline telling me that I should have had another baby by now or that I can never have another one because I waited too long. People are always going to have an opinion and unfortunately they are always going to share that opinion with you even if you don’t ask for it. Don’t let people tell you how to live your life. It’s your life! You’re the one living it day to day! Your life should be exactly what YOU want it to be. So, make it just that and middle fingers to the ones that judge! Thanks for reading guys and letting me vent! Until next time, okkkurrrr!! 


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page