top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureby Marlen Powery

The Date Bite: Akashi(Brickell)


Hello my fellow foodies, happy new year(yes, I know I’m a month late)! As promised, here is this month’s blog for The Date Bite. For our first date night of 2019, we went out for sushi to Akashi over on Brickell. It was a chilly night, which was wonderful and the sushi was delicious! Read on for all the yummy deets!! Normally, we stick to our neck of the woods but we’re trying to venture out past the comfort of Coral Gables lol, so instead we headed to Brickell! First and foremost, I have to say that this blog was almost, almost going to be a very bad and negative review….once we were seated I asked for a glass of water with lemon on the side to which the waiter replied “Oh we are only allowed to use our lemons for our lemonade. Let me ask if I can bring you some and I will let you know.” I’m sorry, what lol??? Let me tell you had he not walked back with my lemons in hand we probably would have walked out(no lie, we’re known to do this). Here’s a little foodie tip, anytime you go somewhere new always try an appetizer! We started off with the shrimp shumai before moving onto the Jennifer Roll and the Mariano Roll. Now, I don’t eat meat but I do like some seafood. You can choose from steamed or fried for the shumai, we did steamed. This shrimp shumai was sooooooo good! The creaminess of the shrimp itself with the tartness of the sauce that came with it combined perfectly. It was just the right consistency, not too soft, not too chewy, not too hard.

Shrimp Shumai

If you’re going to go to Akashi and only try one roll, of the two that we had, I would definitely say go with the Mariano Roll. Enlighten your taste buds with the shrimp tempura, krab salad, masago, cream cheese(oh the cream cheese!), and baked salmon. Topped with eel sauce and spicy mayo, trust me, you won’t have much conversation going throughout the night because you’ll be too busy savoring all the yumminess of this roll! Plus, the presentation with aluminum foil wrapping makes for a great Instagram photo!

Mariano Roll

Now, if you prefer to be a little less complex with your sushi rolls then the Jennifer is your roll. While its on the simpler side with krab salad and cream cheese, it is also topped with salmon but not baked. That’s not to say that it is any less worthy than the Mariano Roll! It’s just as tasty as the Mariano, but a little less orgasmic if you ask me. I guess it just depends on your personal preference when it comes to sushi. I for instance love the cream cheese rolls and anything with baked salmon!

Jennifer Roll

Alright y’all, that’s it for this edition of The Date Bite! If you do go to Akashi, let me know what your favorite rolls were! Thanks for reading! 


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page