top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureby Marlen Powery

Superbowl...flunk??


Alright so as everyone knows(unless you're living under a rock), Superbowl Sunday was just a mere two days ago and everyone is still talking about it. From the lowest score ever to the "safe" halftime show, everyone has an opinion. Now before I give you my thoughts on this whole spectacle I want to clarify that this post is my Opinion.

Let me just start by saying that I am not a sports girl. I don't know a thing about football nor do I want to lol. I rather watch Animal Planet's Puppy Bowl! I do enjoy music though so I do tune into the halftime show every year. Even if it's not an artist that I particularly like, I still like to see what they do cinematically. 

Full disclosure here, I am a Maroon 5 fan so obviously I was excited about this year's halftime show.  Sadly though, I'm not hearing great reviews for Adam and the gang. I personally could have done without Big Boi and the other guy(I forgot his name lol).  I was, however, a little bummed to not see Christina Aguilera grace the stage during "Moves Like Jagger".  

I can understand that people expected more pizazz but I've actually seen Maroon 5 on tour and I felt that they stayed true to Maroon 5's vibe. I also loved how they used the lanterns to spell out the words ONE and LOVE. Sometimes you don't need to be over the top or flashy to send a message. 

Plus, I'll take Adam Levine shirtless over Janet Jackson any day(sorry Ms. Jackson!). Although, I do wish they would have more of a tribute to Stephen Hillenburg though.

What did bother me though is this whole controversy over boycotting the Superbowl for Colin Kaepernick. *sighs* Where do I begin?? I don't wanna get too deep into this but plain and simply, I don't support Mr. Kaepernick's ill-mannered move.

Colin Kaepernick's refusal to stand for the national anthem is inconsiderate and irreverent, not only towards the men and women who actually serve this country but to their families. I can understand wanting to support a good cause and I'm all for standing up for what you believe in. I just don't think you should disrespect others in the process.

Yet, people are praising and applauding this man? This is what people are calling a hero? Just typing those words is absurd to me. I'm sure every sports fan out there knows the name Pat Tillman. I'm not a sports fan and I even know his name. Shortly after the 9/11 attacks Pat Tillman gave up his football career to enlist in the army.

Here you have a man who turned down millions of dollars to go serve his country. Without publicity. Without announcements. Without endorsement deals. He just did it and he lost his life at just 27 years old.

Patrick Daniel Tillman

(11/6/76 - 4/22/04)

I just hope Colin Kaepernick remembers why he has the "right" or "freedom" to choose to be so discourteous and impolite. 

Again, this is my opinion and a very close friend of mine once told me "An opinion is like an asshole, everyone has one". Just like there are people on Kaepernick's side,  I know there are just as many people out there who feel the opposite like I do. 

So, I leave you with this...who is the real hero? Who was the brave one?


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page