top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureby Marlen Powery

The Date Bite: Sweet Servings Ice Cream Bar


Welcome back to another edition of The Date Bite!!  I know that the last one was about ice cream, but come on...who doesn't love ice cream!?  I mean, am I the only who will sit and binge watch a show while devouring a whole pint of their favorite ice cream on a Friday night!?  Yea, I didn't think so...and if you answered "not me", well you're full of doo doo!  Anyways, on to the good stuff!

On Sunday, Carlos took me out on a sweet yet casual date for some ice cream!  If there is one thing my man knows, it's that ice cream and jewelry are always a good idea.  Alright, so it's almost noon on a lazy Sunday.  We're sitting on the couch(still in our pjs), watching Gotham on Netflix, when we take a potty break and you know, because we're millennials we also check our phones.  Then Carlos shows me a video of the most delectable and plush looking ice cream swirl you can imagine, while he says "Damn, that makes me wanna go to McDonald's right now and get an ice cream cone".

To which I, of course, can only reply "Omg no, we'll go to Checkers and get a swirl!"(chocolate/vanilla).  I think it goes without saying, but we're huge ice cream lovers in our household.  We quickly shower and get dressed in pursuit of satisfying our ice cream craving.  We get in the car and Carlos says "So, we're going to this ice cream place that I drove by ok" and so we arrived at Sweet Servings Ice Cream Bar. 

Unless you're stuck in traffic and take a look around you'll miss it just by driving by.  Ironically enough, that's how Carlos came to find it, looking around while stuck in Miami's best traffic on SW 8th Street lol.  Almost hidden away, on SW 8th Street, between 37th Avenue and Ponce de Leon Boulevard, you'll find the cutest, high school sweetheart type Sweet Servings Ice Cream Bar.  You really have to pay attention though or else you'll miss the alley way opening that leads to the parking lot in the back.

You walk in and in an odd but good way you feel like you're walking into your best friend's house after school.  It definitely has a homey vibe which I loved.  Not all dates, need to be a fancy dinner where you leave hungry after your date lol(nothing wrong with those once in a blue, it's a good excuse to dress up lol), and that's what I loved about Sweet Servings Ice Cream Bar.  They offer all the classic goodies an ice cream shop should but with a slight difference from other ice cream shops.

If cookies and cream is your thing then go with the Slutty brownie topped with cookies and cream ice cream and an Oreo cookie.  If your inner fatty loves cake like I do, try the It's My Party milkshake with birthday cake ice cream, whipped cream, and a slice of cake to crown it off!  Oh and the tres leches milkshake is a must!!  You can also sign the sweethearts tree(my fave part), play tic tac toe, or even chess while you enjoy your date!

With Foreigner's "I Wanna Know What Love Is" playing in the background setting the retro vibe while you share a shake with your sweetheart, you'll feel like high school sweethearts back in the good old days.  My only word of advice is to drink up just as fast your boo thang because my boo thang, aka Carlos, did not want to share that tres leches milkshake!! Literally, I had one slurp! 

Feel free to make it a family date too, just don't forget to sign the sweethearts tree and take a post worthy photo with the "Sweets in Bed" backdrop!

Til the next one guys!  Thanks for reading!  


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page