top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureby Marlen Powery

DIY: Floral Letter(Luau Party)


Hi again!!! Ok, so if you guys checked out the blog just before this one on the luau birthday party, now I'm gonna show you how to make that floral letter I used for Angie's cake table. I received a lot of heart eyes when I posted it on my Instagram story(thanks for the love)! Alright, let's get to it!!

First thing you want to do is gather your supplies(obviously lol):


wire cutters($1/Dollar Tree) 


any color paint($3.49/Michael's)


paint brush(I already had a brush set at home but you can find a a brush at the arts & crafts section of pretty much any store)


fake flowers($1.00/Dollar Tree)


wooden letter($3.49/Michael's)


hot glue gun(I own two cuz ya know I'm crafty with it, but you can buy a mini one for about $4)


hot glue sticks(Also had these on hand but again you can get these anywhere, Dollar Tree if you're on a budget)

Ok, now you're ready to get crafty!! 

DIY Floral Letter:

1. I'm OCD, so first things first, set up your work space. I used a garbage bag to cover my dining table.

2. Take your wooden letter and start painting it. I went with a forest green to go with the tropical luau theme. Try to use the same strokes all around so you don't end up with a messy letter. If you start upwards keep it upwards throughout. 

3. While your letter is drying you can start cutting your flowers with your wire cutter. Remember you can use any flowers you like! I wanted a Hawaiian feel so I used these pink hydrangeas(couldn't find hibiscus).

4. Go back to your letter and check if it's dry. If it is, finish painting the bottom and insides of the letter. Let dry. Shouldn't be more than about an hour.

5. Once your letter is fully dry you can warm up your glue gun. This should take just a few minutes.

6. I suggest you arrange your flowers first before gluing them. This way if you don't like how they look you can play around with them until you do. 

7. Once your flowers are perfectly placed it's time to start gluing! Remember that the glue and glue gun are hot, so be careful!! (I may or may not have touched the metal tip of said glue gun to clean it and burned my finger). 

*in bristish accent*

"The glue gun burned my finger!"

Seriously guys, be careful...don't let your OCD burn you!!

8. Finally, once you have finished your masterpiece leave it to dry overnight. You don't want flowers falling off your letter at your event lol!

And tadaaa!!!!! You now have a beautiful floral flower and you didn't spend $30 on Etsy!!

Also, you can do this with numbers too!! I just did the one letter because I was short on time and was lazy lol. 

Thanks for stopping by, catch ya next time!!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page