top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureby Marlen Powery

Too Young for Cell Phones...Necessity or Bratty Luxury?


It seems like we're living in an era where kids are born with a freaking cell phone in their hands.  I remember my first cell phone, back in ninth grade!! Yes, I didn't have a cell phone until I was in ninth grade!! Oh and I never even had a beeper or pager before then lol.  I think for that same reason I've held off on giving Angie her own cell phone for as long as I possibly could...that being said, times have clearly changed! 

Of course Angie has asked for a cell phone before but she never pushed.  I would always explain to her that she didn't need one and she understood that it just wasn't the time.  I mean, while she's at school she can call me from the main office if she needs to(like when she forgets her PE uniform, true story).  She did recently turn twelve though and I do realize she's growing up in very different times from when I was a child.  I'm not entirely oblivious either.

Still, I felt that giving her a cell phone too early would push her to grow up faster than she should.  However, recently I had to let her know who was picking her up from school and I had to text her friend to ask her to please let Angela know who was picking her up that day.  On another occasion, she was feeling a bit under the weather at school and she texted me from her friend's cell phone to let me know what she was feeling.  As much I didn't want to admit it, the time had finally come.  Angie having her own cell phone was now more of a necessity than a bratty luxury.

Sadly, our world is only filled with more malice as the days pass by. I'm not saying that there wasn't any malice in the world when I was growing up, but it was different. Now these sick bastards like fucking Momo have easier access to our children. Technology can be both a great instrument for the future but also a very dark and foreboding tool.

So, yes, she can call me from the main office at school but what if universe forbid, there's an emergency and she needs to communicate with me but can't leave the classroom?  Or if she has to walk home from school one day when she's older(much older and even then still not likely lol), how will I know if she made it home safely?  Yes, now it wasn't so much a bratty luxury for Angie to have a cell phone but a necessity for my own peace of mind as well as hers.  It wasn't an easy decision but one I could no longer avoid. 

So, last weekend, Angie became a tween cell phone owner for the first time eva!  Now, of course, you know momma had to lay down the law that came with this newly acquired big girl status.  Grades(and attitude) need to stay in check, being responsible, not giving out your number to just anyone, and taking care of this material thing that costs money...you know, that sort thing.  So far so good lol.

I still feel a little weird about Angie having her own cell phone but I guess I can't hold off forever lol.  You know, there are so many bad things out in the world and so easily accessible that it's a scary move for any parent to give their child a cell phone of their own.  On the plus side, I am happy about the fact that I can communicate with her throughout the day and vice versa.  No more having to go through friends and hoping that the correct message gets to her lol!  It also makes me happy to see her have more direct communication with family like her godmother, godfather/tio, and abuelo.  She also seems to like texting me from her own cell phone and I'm loving it(let's hope it stays that way)!

Anyway, this is a new motherhood adventure for me and I'm sure most of you will get there soon if you aren't there already!  I'll let you know how it goes, but for now my best piece of advice is to talk freely and openly with your kids.  Knowing that your child has an outlet, if you will, that you're not on the receiving end of can be nerve wrecking.  Keep that open communication with them so that when they do get a cell phone of their own, they'll want to text and call you instead of shut you out.  That's I'm doing over here, or at least trying to do!

How old was your child when you gave them their own cell phone?  

Xoxo, An empowered momma bear that is not ready for her cub to grow up...  


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page